Heritage vs True Love

Today I spent my afternoon at the ballpark, so it was a good day.  The Oakland A’s, with a split squad, played Italia (Italy) as part of the World Baseball Classic (WBC) exhibition games.  Being an Italian girl and an A’s fan, I was pretty excited for the game.

When looking at the schedule for the A’s last week while planning this quick trip to Phoenix, I knew I had to go to the this game.  It’s not too often you can see your favorite team and a WBC team play, so I would be stupid not to jump at the chance.  I brought my funny Italian shirt (Everybody loves an Italian Girl) with me, but opted to wear my funny A’s shirt (Chicks dig diamonds), which everybody always loves.

Like I said, the A’s were playing a split squad, which means half the team is playing one game at home and the other half is playing on the road.  Being cursed with bad luck, I figured that I would end up with all the players I wanted to see playing in Surprise against the Royals today, while I was in Phoenix.  Much to my surprise, the team in Phoenix had almost all the guys I wanted to see.  I brought my A’s playoffs 2012 hat and a sharpie with the hopes of getting some of the guys to sign it.  Tried to get Josh Reddick, but the sneaky little devil ducked into the dugout early, but I’m still happy.

2012 Playoff hat signed by: Coco Crisp, Bob Melvin, Brandon Moss and Yoenis Cespedes

2012 Playoff hat signed by: Coco Crisp, Bob Melvin, Brandon Moss and Yoenis Cespedes

Like most of the WBC teams, there is Major League players on the teams representing their home countries, or heritage, but Italy didn’t have too many names we’d know here in the states.  Some names you might recognize: Nick Punto (Dodgers), Chris Denorfia (Padres), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs), Alex Liddi (Mariners), Mike Costanzo (Nationals), and Drew Butera (Twins).  A lady sitting near by said it best, the last names for team Italia sounds like a romantic poem.  Italian names always sound better than what they actually are- my last name, Susini, translates to from the plum-tree, plum or prune.

The A’s got on the board early and played well all day.  The scored twice in the first inning and added two more in the third.  Italy got on the board in the fourth with a booming home run by the first baseman, Anthony Rizzo.  The 9th inning, oh man, was hard to watch as the A’s pitcher, Arnold Leon, struggled to find the strike zone.  After giving up two runs, the final out was recorded with a play at the plate, in which Leon tagged the runner out.  While I love a play at the plate, one involving the pitcher, not so much.

Either way, it was a great game, with the A’s smacking 12 hits and now I’m actually excited for the WBC.  Go USA!

A's vs. Italia

A’s vs. Italia

A 007

Team Italy warming up

A 017

Josh Reddick and his beard

A 088

Eric Sogard batting. The Italia coach that is sitting just to the right is Mike Piazza

A 095

Jed Lowrie and Adam Rosales

A 139

Team Italy watching the exciting 9th inning

A 144

A’s celebrating the win

phone 020

Brandon Moss after signing my hat

phone 022

Coco Crisp after signing my hat

A 044 A 114

Bert Campaneris threw out the First Pitch

Bert Campaneris threw out the First Pitch

A 082

Anthony Rizzo coming into home after his home run

I have a minor picture problem in that I took close to 170 pictures at this one game.

2 thoughts on “Heritage vs True Love

  1. Susini= plum, sounds about right! My Colombian last name “Rubio” means blond, oh well, I had an uncle who was blond. Here’s to a great season! (Cincinnati native who also pulls for the Indians)

    • I’m excited to see what the Indians do this season. They did a lot in the off season, and I love Nick Swisher.

Leave a comment