Wild Ride

As the seconds tick away for this year and decade, I wanted to take a look back.  While I spent most of this year wallowing in self-pity and heartache, I was wrong.  This year pushed me and tried to break me more times than I care to count.  I spent more time focused on all of the bad things that happened and not enough on the good things.  I experienced loss and heartbreak, but also immense happiness and pride.  I walked away from a job that was toxic and killing me; realizing that my happiness required a much larger salary.  I pushed myself harder than ever by signing up for six half marathons and setting new personal records with each race.

This decade has been the ultimate journey.  I started traveling the world watching baseball in 2011.  I saw beautiful stadiums, enjoyed baseball, experienced the world, and found myself.  When I started this wild ride back in July 2011, I never could have imagined where it would take me.  Baseball has taken me to Sydney, Tokyo, and Canada (twice).  If ten years ago, somebody had told me that I would be flying to Tokyo to watch baseball, I would have thought they were crazy.  Heck, I even did a half marathon in Pittsburgh because “I was already going to be there, so why not?”.

This new decade that is rapidly approaching, is going to be the best yet.  I am set to see the A’s play a game at every single Major League Baseball stadium.  Pinch me because it still doesn’t seem real.  Speaking of my beloved Oakland Athletics, I can’t wait to be there for the new stadium.  I feel it.  We are getting a new stadium this decade.

Thank you.  Thank you to everybody that reads my posts, sorry they have been so few and far between, thank you to my family that supports me and this wild ride, thank you to the amazing friends I have made these past ten years, you are all so very important to me, and thank you to baseball for always being there.  My wish for all of you as we enter this new decade is to soak it all in, step outside of your comfort zone, and live your life.

Life is a wild ride, so throw your hands up and enjoy.

Why not

3 thoughts on “Wild Ride

  1. Your plans may have been scuttled for this year (remains to be seen). However, here’s wishing you success in achieving your goal of being at every stadium to see your A’s. Hope you continue to spread the love of our favorite sport!

Leave a comment