The End

The end is finally here. After four years, countless flights, hours on buses, trains, and sleepless days, the end is finally here. Saturday night, I went to the A’s and Rangers game at Globe Life Park in Arlington, Texas, my 30th stadium.

October 2010, while watching the post season, I made a decision to see a game at all 30 Major League Baseball stadiums. The crazy idea turned into a life altering movement. It’s made me the person I am today. I was never an outgoing person, at least not until I got to know people. Now, since I almost always travel alone (yes, I’ve been doing this alone all these years), I had to learn to talk to people, that or sit there quietly for hours. The highlights include singing Sweet Caroline in Boston, singing the Cubs victory song in Chicago, going on the field for batting practice in Arizona, and seeing the A’s clinch a playoff spot on the final day of the season (again).

It’s bittersweet right now. For the last two years, I’ve spent just about every other weekend at a ballpark somewhere in the country, and now, I’m done. My mission to see the A’s at every stadium will be a much slower process, especially since most of the stadiums I need to see them at are mostly during the week next season. My boyfriend, who puts up with my crazy schedule and drives me to the airport at ungodly hours, will be hitting the road with me next season for a few games. His NL team is the Dodgers, and the A’s head to Dodgers Stadium right around his birthday, so we will be there. The A’s also head to Petco Park next season, so a nice little vacation in San Diego will be happening. Looking at the A’s 2015 schedule, I have very few dates highlighted. Usually, the schedule is highlighted and covered in notes and question marks.

As I sit here on my extremely late flight back home, I’m happy. The season didn’t end how we planned, per say, but we live to play another game. That’s something most teams don’t get to do. I’m just hoping we win on Tuesday, and advance to the ALDS.

Now, I keep track of all my trip costs, and no, you don’t want to know. Every year, I look at the numbers and think of all the things I could have done or could have bought instead. But you know what? Nothing would compare to that moment on Saturday when I walked into the ballpark. Nothing. It was worth every penny, every sleepless night. It was worth it all.

IMG_3359.JPG
Thanks Christian (@coasterfreak) for the map!

IMG_3327.JPG

Leave a comment